Nestled in the foothills on the north side of Bonaparte Mountain, began to be settled quickly when homesteaders spread across what had been the Mosses Reservation.
In 1900 the North Half of the Colville Reservation was opened to settlement, In 1916, the South Half. First, there were mostly Methodists, but soon it became a German Lutheran farming community. Martin Schweikert, rode into Havillah country early in 1904.
He soon took up a homestead and set up a gristmill, and in a short while, a flour mill, and store in 1905. That same year the government approved the name Havillah, and a post office was established on September 29, 1905.
The post office was discontinued on March 31, 1944, and the mail went to Tonasket.
The settlers constructed their first church out of rough lumber in 1905. By 1906, a two story, four room parsonage was completed. Havillah has not seen much change as some earlier day boom towns have experienced, but it is still one of the most beautiful areas to be found in this county, especially with its nostalgic old style church setting, and flour mill school house, which has been restored.